Saturday, December 1, 2012

Rock Noz Band - 2012

This record is the result of a 3-year project and a close collaboration between the musicians of Caliorne. Each of them has brought in his own sensitivity and musical experience, which can be either Celtic, folk, jazz, funk, rock, metal, blues or acoustic.
This musical alchemy creates a mesmerizing universe that makes you travel from the coastlines of Brittany to the shores of Scotland and Ireland. Most of the tunes are built on dance rhythms borrowed from Breton tradition, which is called Fest-Noz. Our goal was to give pride of place to the spirit of congeniality, liveliness and incredible energy that has always been a feature of Breton music, flowing from the stage to the dance floor whenever we perform a concert. Only the last track, "Coulé à Pic" (Sunk straight to the bottom), composed as a tribute to the lost at sea crewmen of French trawler "Bugaled Breizh", holds more grieving undertones.
The record could have been named after one of the tracks. However, "Rock Noz Band" came as the right, obvious title to us. Indeed, the Rock vibe of the album is perceptible from the very first note. Noz refers to the Breton Fest-Noz, whereas Band illustrates the Celtic touch.

  1  Eridal,     Laridé 8 temps
  2  Trad ha Rock,     Gavotte
  3  Scottish Purple,     Scottish
  4  Impro au Chat,     Andro
  5  Paul Caliorne,     Polka
  6  Ø 120/100,     Rond de Saint Vincent
  7  Friponne,     Plinn ton Simple
  8  Rêveur,     Bal Plinn
  9  Déjanté,     Plinn ton Double    
10  La Kro, Star de la boîte,     Kost ar C'Hoad   
11  Rolling Dog,     Cercle circassien
12  Coulé à pic

Recording length: 58 minutes.

Released 1st december 2012

EAN/UPC : 3775000097011

Buy the CD or Download Album

No comments:

Post a Comment